Back to Top

I was born on the Northwest side of Baltimore City to my mother and father until they divorced in the early 1970's. At the tender age of 10, I was introduced to poverty.  Although my mother worked two jobs and my father paid child support, there still wasn't enough income to support my siblings and I, as it was when we had a dual-income household! My siblings knew poverty all to well-loss of essential utilities, not enough in the food budget to last the month, just to name a few. Due to the introduction to poverty, it caused my older siblings and I to mature faster than our peers; we worked menial jobs to help our mother out with the household bills. Upon experiencing this, I made a commitment to myself that I would not have my children go through this. As I grew into adulthood, I enlisted in the United States Marine corps. After serving one term and following my discharge I knew I had to put all of my short term and long term goals in prospective.

Number 1- always have a second job/ side income and make yourself valuable to any employer and no matter what job you hold from Fry cook to regional manager, be the best that you can be and the rewards for your efforts will come. I had every job imaginable from busboy, janitor, to manager of retail, but my true calling was becoming an insurance agent. As an insurance agent that was my introduction to helping individuals and families in need-not only did it give me a great income but a great feeling inside of helping others. I used to volunteer at the festivals we provided free food and entertainment to low income families. My personal contribution was being a well-known purple dinosaur which name escapes me at this time. For over twenty years, I lived a great life; a home, great Income, a 401 k and just enjoying my fruits of labor. But it all came crashing down in the early 2000s with my divorce and the crash of the economy in 2008. I was dismissed from my job in mid 2010, being as naïve as I was at that time, I just knew I would get another great job with my experience and background. Oh, how wrong was, I went from 80,000 a year to 8.00 an hour! With no substantial income coming in, my savings was depleted in eight months. This led me to getting behind in my bills, especially rent and after being rejected from social services, I lost my apartment and car was repossessed on the same day in February 2011. I would've been homeless if it wasn't for my wonderful family who let me stay with them until I got back on my feet! Since then, I was taught me a very valuable lesson in homelessness-it's not what's projected on the media as people being alcoholics, junkies or even bums. They're often working class people; they are your Neighbor, your co worker they may be anywhere and you would never know the pain and suffering that they are going thru. And for a second time in my life I pulled myself out of poverty. this time to help others achieve a better life.

Where I stand on current issues Pro-Choice, this a woman's right to choose not just in MD but all states. Assault weapons' should not be carried in public and should have restrictions on who can purchase them. I have a 7-year old and worrying about her safety plaques my mind while she's in school. No parent in the country should feel this way. this has to be addressed. I believe in Wage Garnishment reform because I believe this is part of the causes of homelessness. I believe the MD Handgun Law should be reformed. people that made a mistake should not be condemned for the rest of their lives. I am fighting for expungements for first time offenders. I am also fighting for the rights LGBTQ of Equality they have the Right to live their lives as they feel comfortable and should not be criticized or demonized for their lifestyle. Raise the Federal  Minimum  wage to 21.85 an hour 




Committee to Elect CLINTON SPELLMAN
Powered by - Political Campaign Websites
Close Menu